Don’t Panic. It’s Just GMail

   First came the controversial changes to YouTube, and now this. If you use GMail, you received a notification in which Big G informed you of a new feature called Email via Google+. This new feature allows anyone with a Google+ account to send messages to your GMail inbox, regardless if they have your email address or not. And like the Great YouTube Comments Controversy of 2013, this too has caused quite an uproar. I’ve seen countless posts from angry people – some even threatening to delete their GMail accounts and abandoning anything Google related.
   But, like most anything else, there is a simple solution. That’s right folks – you can disable this feature.
Simply do this –
1. Go to Gmail in your web browser and log in to your account.
2. Click on the gear icon on the right and select “Settings”.
3. The screen will open under the “General” tab. Scroll down a bit and you will find “Emial via Google+”
4. Select the drop-down. There you will see multiple choices (from your circles only to no one).
5. To disable this feature, simply select “No One” from the drop down.
6. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the screen and click “Save Changes”.
   And, that’s it! No need to panic – simply disable this feature if this isn’t something you want, and you’re back to business as usual.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s